Skip to content
Start main Content

Master of Arts in Religious Studies
Study Scheme

Master of Arts in Religious Studies - Study Scheme

Study Scheme

 (Applicable for students admitted in 2022-23 and thereafter)

The degree would require a total of 8 courses (24 units) to be completed within one year for full-time students and two years for part-time students. Out of the 24 units, at least 18 units must be RELS-coded courses.



Required courses:


3 units











Elective courses:
Any Seven courses from the Four Areas prescribed in the course list with at least TWO Areas chosen from Area 1, 2 and 3.


Areas of Study

Area 1: Religion, Heritage and Context
Area 2: Religion, Society and Culture
Area 3: Religion, Life and Wisdom
Area 4: Special Topics in Religious Studies

21 units









  Total: 24 units

Students should consult the student handbook from the Graduate School for details of programme requirements.


MARS Study Scheme 2021-22

MARS Study Scheme 2022-23